Total Knee Replacement Protocol
Post-op TKA rehab by week and by day for the first two weeks: phases, weight bearing, restrictions and milestones, with cited sources and a free printable PDF.
At a glance (Primary TKA): PT within 24 h · WBAT with a walker from day 0 · cane typically from wk 2 · no device typically wk 3–6 · 0–90° by wk 2 · 0–120° by wk 10 · low-impact activity from about 3 mo with surgeon clearance. Criteria-based.
Timeline
Currently showing: Primary TKA · Version 2026.10
First 14 days
First days
Weight bearing
Motion
Milestones
Phase 1 · Early motion
wk 0–2CPM is not used after primary, uncomplicated TKA[1, 8], and neither is routine bracing or splinting to gain motion early[1].
Goals
Allowed
- PT, including getting up, within 24 hours of surgery[1]
- Gait training with the walker, then a cane once the step-down criteria are met[6]
- Passive, active-assisted and active knee ROM[1]
- Sustained end-range flexion and extension in short bouts, about 30 min a day in total, until 0–120° is reached[6]
- Progressive walking, guided by pain and swelling (no step cap)[1, 6]
- Cryotherapy for early pain; plain cold packs work as well as cold-flow devices[1, 7]
Avoid
- Driving, until getting in and out of the car and moving from gas to brake are comfortable, and off opioids (until wk 4)
Exercises
How protocols differ: The only phased plan in the cited evidence moves on by criteria, not by date, and its phases overlap[5]; the compared protocols end their first stage at wk 3, at wk 1, or at hospital discharge[17, 18, 19].
Key milestones by week
How this protocol compares with published total knee protocols and the cited evidence, on a shared week scale (low-impact activity on a 12-month scale). Criteria-based: advance only when each phase's criteria are met.
Want the patient's dates here? (or weeks post-op).
| Milestone | This protocol | 0410 wk Range in published protocols | Published range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Off the walker or cane | wk 3 | wk 3–8[17, 18, 19]all three compared protocols include wk 6 | |
| Driving again | wk 4 | wk 2–8[10]most often about wk 4 | |
| Discharge from outpatient PT | wk 10 | wk 8–15[13]typical recovery about wk 10 | |
| Low-impact activity | from 3 mo | months scale: 0–12 mo | wk 9 to 6 mo[16, 17, 18, 19]mean about 13 wk |
All phases
Allowed
- PT, including getting up, within 24 hours of surgery[1]
- Gait training with the walker, then a cane once the step-down criteria are met[6]
- Passive, active-assisted and active knee ROM[1]
- Sustained end-range flexion and extension in short bouts, about 30 min a day in total, until 0–120° is reached[6]
- Progressive walking, guided by pain and swelling (no step cap)[1, 6]
- Cryotherapy for early pain; plain cold packs work as well as cold-flow devices[1, 7]
Avoid
- Driving, until getting in and out of the car and moving from gas to brake are comfortable, and off opioids (until wk 4)
Exercises
Allowed
Avoid
- Driving, until getting in and out of the car and moving from gas to brake are comfortable, and off opioids (until wk 4)
Exercises
Avoid
No time-based limits in this phase.
Exercises
Discharge from PT when
- 2 × 8 repetitions without fatigue[5] (yes/no check)
- Resting pain < 3/10 (NPRS)[5]
- Knee ROM 0–120°[6] (yes/no check)
- Normal gait without a device (yes/no check)
- Reciprocal stairs (yes/no check)
- Quadriceps strength ≥ 80% of the other leg
Return to low-impact activity when
- About 3 months since surgery (mean return to low-impact sport about 13 wk)[16]
- Cleared by the surgeon (yes/no check)
How published protocols differ
Published protocols agree on walking with a walker from the first days, and differ most on when to drop the walker or cane, the final flexion goal and how to rest the knee in the first days.
| Decision point | This protocol | Sanford Health[17]source ↗ · rev. Jul 2026 · checked Oct 2026 | Mass General Brigham[18]source ↗ · Jun 2025 · checked Oct 2026 | South Shore Health[19]source ↗ · rev. Jan 2021 · checked Oct 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight bearing | WBAT with a walker from day 0, unless the surgeon restricts it | No default; any modified weight bearing is checked with the physician | Follow the surgeon's order if restricted; no default | WBAT with a walker or crutches unless ordered otherwise |
| Off the walker or cane | Cane typically from wk 2, no device typically wk 3–6, each once criteria are met | Cane once quad control is adequate (wk 0–3); no device wk 3–6 | Least device needed by the end of wk 1–4; normal gait with no device by the end of wk 4–8 | Wean once a straight leg raise has no lag; many off devices by 6 wk |
| Final flexion goal | 0–120° by wk 10 | 0–120° (wk 6–9, and at discharge) | Over 120° (wk 8–12) | 0–110° by wk 6, then as much as possible |
| Resting position, first days | Elevated, knee bent 30–90°, first 7 days, with heel-prop bouts | Not stated | Nothing directly under the knee; heel prop | Towel roll under the ankle; nothing under the knee for long periods |
| Driving | Typically about wk 2 after a left TKA, wk 4 after a right, once car transfers and gas-to-brake are comfortable and off opioids | Ask the physician; no timing given | Not stated | Commonly 6 wk after a right knee, 4 wk after a left; never on narcotics |
| Return to activity | Low-impact activity from about 3 mo, with surgeon clearance | Wk 9+: golf, walking or biking programs; running and high impact via the physician | Months 3–6: low-impact recreation with physician clearance | Wk 12+: golf, doubles tennis, cycling; avoid high-impact and contact sports |
Different numbers from the surgeon?
Match the surgeon's protocol →Opens HEP Drop · Free during early access
Each value is a fact in our words, linked to its source with the version and the date we checked it. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the institutions listed.
References and basis
What backs each recommendation
Our summary, in our own words, of what each source supports. "Strongest evidence" is the study design as published; a review that pools only cadaver studies is listed as a lab study. "Limited evidence" means no randomized trial or systematic review of patient studies is among that row's sources; we do not grade our own recommendations.
| Recommendation | This protocol | Based on | Strongest evidence | What's uncertain |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 1 · Early motion · wk 0–2 | ||||
| First PT and getting up | within 24 h | [1] Bove 2026[2] Cook 2008[3] Masaracchio 2017 | Systematic review | |
| Weight bearing | as tolerated with a walker from day 0, unless the surgeon restricts it | [2] Cook 2008[3] Masaracchio 2017[10] Na 2020 | Systematic review | The 2026 guideline gives no weight-bearing status[1]; every program in the cited evidence lets patients bear weight as tolerated from the day of surgery or day 1[2, 3, 10]. |
| Resting position | elevated, knee bent 30–90°, days 0–7 | [1] Bove 2026[9] Jette 2020[6] Bade 2017 | RCT | The guideline recommends resting with the knee bent to limit swelling[1]; two of the compared protocols say nothing under the knee (see How protocols differ). This page pairs the resting position with heel-prop extension bouts[6]. |
| Walker to cane | typically from wk 2, once the criteria are met | [3] Masaracchio 2017 | Systematic review | No study gives criteria for stepping down; the criteria are our clinical call. Fast-track programs try a cane on day 1 or 2, and one pathway moves to sticks at the 10–14 day visit[3]. |
| 0–90° | by wk 2 | [2] Cook 2008[4] Mutsuzaki 2017 | Cohort study Limited evidence | |
| CPM | not used | [1] Bove 2026[8] Jia 2024 | Systematic review | |
| Phase 2 · Motion and strength · wk 2–6 | ||||
| Off the cane | typically wk 3–6, once gait is normal without the cane | No published source Limited evidence | No study in the cited evidence gives criteria or timing for stopping the walking aid; the criteria and weeks are our clinical call, within the range of the compared protocols (wk 3–8). | |
| Progressive strength | from wk 2, 2 × 8 at an 8-repetition maximum | [1] Bove 2026[6] Bade 2017 | RCT | The guideline gives no sets, reps or load[1], and the high-intensity program did not beat the low-intensity one on its main outcome[6]. |
| NMES (optional) | daily, if used | [1] Bove 2026 | Guideline Limited evidence | The guideline recommends NMES at least daily (moderate evidence); cost and access can be barriers[1]. |
| Driving | typically about wk 2 after a left TKA, wk 4 after a right | [10] Na 2020 | Systematic review | |
| About 0–110° | by wk 6 | [4] Mutsuzaki 2017[12] Schiavone Panni 2009 | Cohort study Limited evidence | Flexion under 90° at 6 weeks is the usual point to consider manipulation[12]. |
| Phase 3 · Strengthen and return · wk 6–10 | ||||
| 0–120° | by wk 10 | [6] Bade 2017 | RCT | |
| Discharge from PT | typically about wk 10 | [13] Graber 2023 | Consensus Limited evidence | No source sets a strength cut-off for discharge after TKA; the quadriceps, gait and stair criteria are our clinical call. |
| Kneeling practice | from wk 12 (our default) | [14] Wylde 2019 | Narrative review Limited evidence | |
| Low-impact activity | from about 3 mo, with surgeon clearance | [16] Witjes 2016 | Systematic review | |
- Off the cane: No study in the cited evidence gives criteria or timing for stopping the walking aid; the criteria and weeks are our clinical call, within the range of the compared protocols (wk 3–8).
- NMES (optional): The guideline recommends NMES at least daily (moderate evidence); cost and access can be barriers[1].
- About 0–110°: Flexion under 90° at 6 weeks is the usual point to consider manipulation[12].
- Discharge from PT: No source sets a strength cut-off for discharge after TKA; the quadriceps, gait and stair criteria are our clinical call.
Bibliography
- 1.Bove AM, Carroll LA, Cone S, et al. Clinical practice guideline for physical therapist management of total knee arthroplasty: revision 2026. Phys Ther. 2026;106(7):pzag058.Guideline (APTA CPG, revision 2026; replaces Jette 2020) · PMC13403188 (free full text) · doi:10.1093/ptj/pzag058 · CC BY-NC 4.0 · cited, not reproduced · Used for: First PT and getting up · Resting position · CPM · Progressive strength · NMES (optional)
- 2.Cook JR, Warren M, Ganley KJ, et al. A comprehensive joint replacement program for total knee arthroplasty: a descriptive study. BMC Musculoskelet Disord. 2008;9:154.Cohort study (n = 74, one hospital joint replacement program, day-level) · PMC2596133 (free full text) · doi:10.1186/1471-2474-9-154 · CC BY 4.0 · cited · Used for: First PT and getting up · Weight bearing · 0–90°
- 3.Masaracchio M, Hanney WJ, Liu X, et al. Timing of rehabilitation on length of stay and cost in patients with hip or knee joint arthroplasty: A systematic review with meta-analysis. PLoS One. 2017;12(6):e0178295.Systematic review (timing of first PT and length of stay; tables of day-by-day programs) · PMC5456061 (free full text) · doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0178295 · CC BY 4.0 · cited · Used for: First PT and getting up · Weight bearing · Walker to cane
- 4.Mutsuzaki H, Takeuchi R, Mataki Y, et al. Target range of motion for rehabilitation after total knee arthroplasty. J Rural Med. 2017;12(1):33–37.Cohort study (n = 39 knees, ROM time course to 12 months (Japan)) · PMC5458350 (free full text) · doi:10.2185/jrm.2923 · CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 · cited, not reproduced · Used for: 0–90° · About 0–110°
- 5.Bade MJ, Stevens-Lapsley JE. Early high-intensity rehabilitation following total knee arthroplasty improves outcomes. J Orthop Sports Phys Ther. 2011;41(12):932–941.Cohort study (n = 16, high-intensity program with 4 phases and progression rules) · PMC13040458 (free full text) · doi:10.2519/jospt.2011.3734 · © publisher · cited only
- 6.Bade MJ, Struessel T, Dayton M, et al. Early High-Intensity Versus Low-Intensity Rehabilitation After Total Knee Arthroplasty: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Arthritis Care Res (Hoboken). 2017;69(9):1360–1368.RCT (high- vs low-intensity outpatient rehab) · PMC5415445 (free full text) · doi:10.1002/acr.23139 · © publisher · cited only · Used for: Resting position · Progressive strength · 0–120°
- 7.Liang Z, Ding Z, Wang D, et al. Cryotherapy for Rehabilitation After Total Knee Arthroplasty: A Comprehensive Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Orthop Surg. 2024;16(12):2897–2915.Systematic review (cryotherapy after TKA) · PMC11608804 (free full text) · doi:10.1111/os.14266 · CC BY 4.0 · cited
- 8.Jia Z, Zhang Y, Zhang W, et al. Efficacy and safety of continuous passive motion and physical therapy in recovery from knee arthroplasty: a systematic review and meta-analysis. J Orthop Surg Res. 2024;19(1):68.Systematic review (CPM plus PT vs PT alone) · PMC10787984 (free full text) · doi:10.1186/s13018-024-04536-y · CC BY 4.0 · cited · Used for: CPM
- 9.Jette DU, Hunter SJ, Burkett L, et al. Physical Therapist Management of Total Knee Arthroplasty. Phys Ther. 2020;100(9):1603–1631.Guideline (APTA CPG 2020; superseded by Bove 2026, history only) · PMC7462050 (free full text) · doi:10.1093/ptj/pzaa099 · CC BY-NC 4.0 · cited, not reproduced · Used for: Resting position
- 10.Na A, Richburg K, Gugala Z. Clinical Considerations for Return to Driving a Car following a Total Knee or Hip Arthroplasty: A Systematic Review. Biomed Res Int. 2020;2020:8921892.Systematic review (return to driving after TKA or THA) · PMC7364193 (free full text) · doi:10.1155/2020/8921892 · CC BY 4.0 · cited · Used for: Weight bearing · Driving
- 11.Husted H, Lunn TH, Troelsen A, et al. Why still in hospital after fast-track hip and knee arthroplasty? Acta Orthop. 2011;82(6):679–684.Cohort study (n = 207 (109 TKA), fast-track, functional discharge criteria) · PMC3247885 (free full text) · doi:10.3109/17453674.2011.636682 · CC BY-NC 4.0 · cited, not reproduced
- 12.Schiavone Panni A, Cerciello S, Vasso M, et al. Stiffness in total knee arthroplasty. J Orthop Traumatol. 2009;10(3):111–118.Narrative review (stiffness after TKA) · PMC2744731 (free full text) · doi:10.1007/s10195-009-0054-6 · © publisher · cited only · Used for: About 0–110°
- 13.Graber J, Churchill L, Struessel T, et al. Expert Consensus for the Use of Outpatient Rehabilitation Visits After Total Knee Arthroplasty: A Delphi Study. J Orthop Sports Phys Ther. 2023;53(9):566–574.Consensus statement (US Delphi, outpatient PT visits after TKA) · PMC12010683 (free full text) · doi:10.2519/jospt.2023.11840 · © publisher · cited only · Used for: Discharge from PT
- 14.Wylde V, Artz N, Howells N, et al. Kneeling ability after total knee replacement. EFORT Open Rev. 2019;4(7):460–467.Narrative review (kneeling after TKR) · PMC6667980 (free full text) · doi:10.1302/2058-5241.4.180085 · CC BY-NC 4.0 · cited, not reproduced · Used for: Kneeling practice
- 15.Wainwright TW, Gill M, McDonald DA, et al. Consensus statement for perioperative care in total hip replacement and total knee replacement surgery: Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Society recommendations. Acta Orthop. 2020;91(1):3–19.Consensus statement (ERAS Society, hip and knee replacement) · PMC7006728 (free full text) · doi:10.1080/17453674.2019.1683790 · CC BY 4.0 · cited
- 16.Witjes S, Gouttebarge V, Kuijer PP, et al. Return to Sports and Physical Activity After Total and Unicondylar Knee Arthroplasty: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Sports Med. 2016;46(2):269–292.Systematic review (return to sport after TKA and UKA) · PMC4728176 (free full text) · doi:10.1007/s40279-015-0421-9 · CC BY 4.0 · cited · Used for: Low-impact activity
Published protocols compared (17–19)
Compared, not endorsed. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the institutions listed. Versions and checked dates match the How published protocols differ table.
- 17.Sanford Health. Total knee arthroplasty rehabilitation guideline [PDF]. Revised Jul 2026.Published protocol · Protocol PDF (www.sanfordhealth.org/-/media/org/files/medical-professionals/resources-and-education/6-total-knee-arthroplasty-rehabilitation-guideline.pdf) · checked Oct 2026 · Compared, not endorsed · Used for: How protocols differ · Key milestones: published ranges
- 18.Mass General Brigham. Rehabilitation protocol for total knee arthroplasty (TKA) [PDF]. Version Jun 2025.Published protocol · Protocol PDF (www.massgeneralbrigham.org/content/dam/unified-xwalk/pdf/patient-education/english/rehabilitation-protocol-for-total-knee-arthroplasty.pdf) · checked Oct 2026 · Compared, not endorsed · Used for: How protocols differ · Key milestones: published ranges
- 19.South Shore Health. Total knee arthroplasty (TKA) rehabilitation protocol [PDF]. Revised Jan 2021.Published protocol · Protocol PDF (d18unesthp5g3j.cloudfront.net/www.southshorehealth.org/assets/2021-02/total-knee-rehab-protocol.pdf) · checked Oct 2026 · Compared, not endorsed · Used for: How protocols differ · Key milestones: published ranges
Licenses and adaptation. All are licensed under CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0). No warranties are given by the original authors.
[4] Mutsuzaki 2017 is CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 and [1] Bove 2026, [9] Jette 2020, [11] Husted 2011 and [14] Wylde 2019 are CC BY-NC 4.0: we summarize their findings in our own words and reproduce no text, tables or figures. [5] Bade 2011, [6] Bade 2017, [12] Schiavone Panni 2009 and [13] Graber 2023 are not openly licensed (all rights reserved): we state their findings and numbers in our own words and reproduce no text, tables or figures.
Published protocols [17]–[19] are compared, not endorsed. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the institutions listed.
Changelog
| Version | Date | What changed | Type | Recommendations affected | Reviewed by | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026.10 | Oct 2026 | First published version | — | All | Licensed PT | 19 |
Total Knee Replacement Protocol · Primary TKA · Version 2026.10 · hepdrop.com/p/tka · The operating surgeon's protocol takes precedence.